The Van Wert County Courthouse

Friday, Jan. 19, 2018

VWHS Drama Club news

The Van Wert High School Drama Club is excited to announce its spring production of the musical version of L. Frank Baum’s timeless classic, The Wizard of Oz. This beloved, memorable show has been seen by almost everyone and is a timeless favorite.

The show will be full of beautiful sets from the Munchkin Land to the amazing Emerald City. Don’t forget about the creepy forest and the witch’s eerie castle. The characters will come alive with the students’ acting skills and topped off with dazzling costumes. There are sure to be many magical moments filled with humor and fun-filled adventures.

Just follow the yellow brick road to the Niswonger Performing Arts Center to see the musical version of this show at 7 p.m. on the nights of Thursday, April 18, Friday, April 19, and Saturday, April 20.

Several high school students are involved with this production. Leading roles include Harley Danylchuk as Dorothy, Hunter Munroe as the Cowardly Lion, Jesse Daniels as the Tinman, Drew Hoffman as the Scarecrow, Ashlee Dowdy as the Wicked Witch, Morella Mills as Glinda the Good Witch, Robbie Trittschuh as General of the Army of Winkies, and Jacob Hoverman starring as Professor Marvel and the Wizard of Oz. 

Supporting roles are filled by the following cast members: Corrie Smith, Levi McCarter, Bailey Krol, Jon Lisa, LeAndryce Miller, Stephanie Haggis, Sage Burden, Joe Linser, Alea Hill, Alora Yorkovich, James Defore, Elizabeth Lassiter, Becca Johnson, Brittney Boaz, Korbin Schalois, Levi McCarter, Hannah Fraser, Alexis Billingham, Alexa Freeland, Peyton Closson, Kaleb Cantrell, Nick Olson, Andrea Foster, Karli Turnwald, Leslie Foster, Megan Barnhart, Haley Walker, Rebecca Welker, Shelbee Miller, Haley Richardson, and Sarah Wray.

In addition to the cast of high school students, the show includes the following elementary students starring as Munchkins and flying monkeys: Kayla Krites, Alayna Cripe, Elizabeth Rutkowski, Jenna Covey, Madison Bracken, Sydney Maller, Kimberly Adams, Carly Smith, Cassidy Heath, Jamie Burenga, Ciara Becker, Janie Trejo, Kendall Rauch, Mia Kelley, Sam Price, Ethan White, Xander Scarpelli, Evan Stroufe, Zane Gile, and Kaden Thomas.

The show won’t run without a dynamic stage crew. This year’s crew will be led by Matt Saunier as the stage manager, with his production crew consisting of the following: Samantha Brooks, Nick Olson, Madison Smith, Andrew Perry, Shelbee Miller, Maizy Zsiros, Haley Sperry, Serenity Duty, Morgan Lahmon, Shianne Baldwin, Haley Richardson, and Mackenzie Agler. The crew is sure to bring the show alive with special effects and professional “technicolor” lighting.

The directors of the show are Chad Kraner and Matt Alessandrini, along with Tonia Gamble as the munchkin music director, Josh Schumm coordinating set construction, Hugh Saunier as technical director, Melissa Bloomfield and Kimberly Pollock as choreographers, and Marilyn Alessandrini as the accompanist, along with her live orchestra performing the music for the show.

Tickets will go on sale at the NPAC box office, starting the week of March 25. Those who would like to be a patron member and get access to the early bird gold circle seating reservations can email People can also visit the Drama Club’s new theatre website at the following address: Also check on the progress of the show with blog entries at, where students and directors will post information related to The Wizard of Oz.

Stay tuned for more information about this amazing show! For now, plan on visiting the Land of Oz!

POSTED: 03/13/13 at 5:53 am. FILED UNDER: News